Storytime

So I’m in the middle of my Stress Management class going over the powerpoints and for some reason I decided to tell a story that happened to me that’s been bothering me or maybe I’m just being a little petty about it.

Backstory: I’m the type of girl, that literally has no idea how to put makeup on either than mascara and eyeliner, maybe some cute dark matte lipstick because why the hell not. Well my sister had recently gifted me the world of highlight. So I’ve been trying to highlight my cheekbones because once again, why the hell not?

One morning, I had just gotten back from the gym, so I’m feeling good about myself, I’m freshly showered, I’m literally feeling brand new. I decide to try on some highlighter on my cheeks because I wanted to just highlight how cute they are. At this point, I’m basically done in 15 minutes because once again mascara and eyeliner and I’m out.

So I’m at work, having a great time, the sun is hitting me right and I’m packing up to leave and this girl looks at me and asked if I was wearing highlighter and I told her yes. Then she had the audacity to ask me why only because we were inside for a good few hours.

For some reason I had no idea how to respond because I’m over here thinking, that she was going to compliment me but all of a sudden, I got asked why. There was no reason as to why, either than that I was feeling myself and that rarely happens to me.

I don’t know if it’s just me but it was literally just a slap in the face and then she went on about how she doesn’t put on highlight because blah blah blah. But all I could think about was that I wasn’t here to impress you, I was here to impress myself, so if I wanted to highlight my cheeks I’ll highlight them any day I want.

But I feel like she didn’t mean it in a mean way, but how she asked and her tone just took me back but that’s all to my story. I just want to say is never ask anyone why they have something on. If anything, just compliment them and be on your way.

Thanks for listening. Back to my powerpoint lectures.

Cheers. X

Leave a Reply

